Being a licensed driver in the Magnolia State also means complying with compulsory liability insurance requirements or facing an assortment of consequences. Motorists must be able to pay for damages they cause while behind-the-wheel, and one of the best ways to do that is by purchasing adequate vehicle coverage. Although the state requires drivers to be insured, the Insurance Research Council estimates that in 2009 roughly 28 percent of vehicle owners in Mississippi were uninsured. To be better prepared for a collision involving one of these uninsured residents, vehicle owners are encouraged to not only purchase insurance, but also consider buying additional coverage.
As of January 1st 2001 all motorists in the Magnolia State were required to maintain liability coverage and carry proof of insurance within their vehicle in accordance with House Bill 621. Because of these requirements, licensed drivers are encouraged to shop around for cheap liability insurance in Mississippi that includes an adequate level of protection. Motorists must maintain minimum limits of 25/50/25 but can often choose to purchase higher limits for only a few extra premium dollars. If a resident is convicted of operating a motor vehicle without adequate coverage they may face a fine of up to $1,000 and could lose their driving privileges for up to one year, or until the convicted motorist can demonstrate that they are sufficiently insured.
Unlicensed Drivers and MS Auto Insurance
Although vehicle coverage is required in Mississippi, there are still drivers who choose to ignore these requirements. The Compulsory Liability Automobile Insurance that is required by the state is designed to cover damages that the policyholder is responsible for, but not damages caused by others. Because MS reportedly has the nation’s highest percentage of uninsured drivers, residents are urged to shop around for policies that include uninsured/underinsured motorist protection. This additive generally covers damages caused by another motorist who is either lacking auto protection entirely or has insufficient coverage to pay for all of the resulting damages. Often this includes damages that are caused by a hit-and-run driver.
Maintaining an adequate insurance policy can help Mississippi motorists avoid license suspensions and other consequences, but choosing an insurer may take some effort. In the Magnolia State there are over 1,000 companies that are licensed to sell auto coverage, and nearly each company may offer unique rates and options. It is essential for motorists to explore these options by comparing as many quotes as possible. To expedite the shopping experience, residents are encouraged to use online tools that can allow people to see dozens of sample rates at once. Making the effort to locate an affordable insurer may make it more possible for motorists to afford and enjoy the benefits of maintaining additional uninsured/underinsured motorist protection.